Industries

Industries

Strength in the construction, various agricultural practices (flowers in particular), orchards and other related fields, are typical industries found within rural communities.

Contrary to the MRC, however, the manufacturing industry occupies an important role in the Township of Hemmingford’s economy (9% of residents work in this field). The manufacturing of alcoholic beverages as well as the manufacturing of aerospace parts are two fields which distinguish the Township of Hemmingford from its neighbors.

Capture
Capture67

AEROSPACE MANUFACTURING IN HEMMINGFORD

Hemmingford Aerospace

Untitled-24

Established in Hemmingford in 1985
93 employees
Hemmingford Industrial Park
3,340 m²

www.aerohemm.com

Untitled-25

Hemmingford Aerospace Inc. opened its doors in Hemmingford in 1985, however, its origins date back to 1963. After 15 years in Longueuil, Christopher J. Turner succeeded his father Jesse Turner, and moved the company to Glens Falls, NY to start the Air Industrial Park. In 1985, the company returned to Quebec.

The first year saw a team of five American employees in a small rented space in the premises where the Rona is now located. After some time, he managed to train local people as operators and the company moved to the address 157 Route 219, and took the name it bears today.

In 1998, in full ice storm, the disaster occurs. The builder and one-man band, Christopher Turner, died at the age of 52. His wife, Diane Gabias-Turner, abandoned her studies at McGill University and returned to the factory to become manager.

In the summer of 2010, the company moved to Hemmingford’s Industrial Park where the company is currently located.

Diane Gabias-Turner, Présidente

Picture2· Fournisseur d’UTC (United Techonologies Corporation)
· Gagnent de 6 récompense Or consécutive pour les fournisseurs de la part d’UTC

Hess Aerospace & Defense

John Hess arrived in Canada by boat from Germany in 1953 speaking neither French nor English. He was accompanied by his wife Theresia and their young daughter, with nothing but a hidden Canadian $20 bill in a shoe. Machinist by trade, a colleague introduced him to a possible employer and, in 1962, a company was born in the basement of their family home in LaSalle. Being a disciplined and quality craftsman, a five-year apprenticeship program earned him several consultations by companies that had projects, but did not know how to achieve them.

Virginia and Jonathan Hess, children of John and Theresia joined the company after high school and now run the company. Today, at 90 years of age, Mr. Hess still shows up to the plant every morning for a few hours of work.

Virginia Hess, Co-Propriétaire

Untitled-26

Established in Hemmingford in 1980
20 employees
Chemin Williams
800 m²

www.hessaerospaceanddefense.com

Industries

Industries

La force de l’industrie de la construction et des différentes cultures agricoles, notamment des fleurs, des vergers et des activités connexes, sont des éléments qui sont typiques des communautés rurales.

Contrairement à la MRC, l’industrie de la fabrication prend une place importante dans l’économie du Canton de Hemmingford (9 % des résidents travaillent dans ce domaine). La fabrication de boissons ainsi que la fabrication de produits aérospatiaux sont deux éléments distinguant la région de ses principaux partenaires.

Generic_turbofan_airplane.svg

Capturef
Captured

FABRICATION AÉROSPATIALE À HEMMINGFORD

Aérospatiale Hemmingford

Untitled-24

Établie à Hemmingford en 1985
93 employées
Parc Industriel Hemmingford
3,340 m²

www.aerohemm.com

Untitled-25

Bien qu’Aérospatiale Hemmingford Inc. ait ouvert ses portes à Hemmingford en 1985, ses origines remontent à 1963. Après 15 ans à Longueuil, succédant à son père Jesse Turner, Christopher J. Turner prend la relève et déménage à Glens Falls, NY pour y démarrer l’Air Industrial Park. En 1985, la compagnie revient au Québec.

La première année voit une équipe de cinq employés américains dans un petit espace loué dans les locaux où se trouve aujourd’hui le magasin RONA. Après quelque temps, il réussit à former des gens locaux comme opérateurs et la compagnie emménage à l’adresse, 157 Route 219 et prend le nom qu’elle porte aujourd’hui.

C’est en 1998, en pleine crise du verglas, que la catastrophe survient. Le bâtisseur et l’homme-orchestre, Christopher Turner, décède à l’âge de 52 ans. Sa conjointe, Mme Diane Gabias-Turner, abandonne ses études à l’université McGill et rentre à l’usine et en prend la direction.

À l’été 2010, l’entreprise déménage rue du Parc industriel où la compagnie se situe actuellement.

Diane Gabias-Turner, Présidente

Picture2· Fournisseur d’UTC (United Techonologies Corporation)
· Gagnant de 6 récompenses Or consécutives pour les fournisseurs de la part d’UTC

Hess Aerospace & Defense

John Hess est arrivé d’Allemagne, par bateau en 1953. Il ne parlait ni français et ni anglais. Il était accompagné de son épouse Theresia et de leur fillette et il avait 20$ canadien cachés dans un soulier. Machiniste de formation, un collègue le présenta à quelqu’un qui pouvait l’engager, en 1962, une entreprise naissait dans le sous-sol de la maison familiale de ville LaSalle. Par sa qualité d’artisan discipliné, un programme d’apprentissage de cinq ans lui a value d’être consulté par des compagnies qui avaient des projets, mais ne savaient pas comment les réaliser.

Virginia  et Jonathan Hess, enfants de John et Theresia se joignirent à la compagnie après leurs études secondaires et dirigent maintenant l’entreprise. Âgé de 90 ans maintenant M. Hess se rend à chaque matin à l’usine pour quelques heures de travail.

Virginia Hess, Co-Propriétaire

Untitled-26

Établie à Hemmingford en 1980
20 employées
Parc Industriel Hemmingford
800 m²

www.hessaerospaceanddefense.com